Moving across country; moving on, moving out :)

packing our belongings into the penske truck

stopping @ cmu to see the sisters
view of the truck and our towed car

March 26 at 9am we drove to Zaremba’s and picked up our Penkse truck. I got a bit nervous about how our trip was gonna go when they told us that our car lift was in traverse city. It worked out in the end though we were able to get our truck packed which made things easier in the end. It was SO cold like 30 degrees when we packed up the truck making us all the more excited to get down to the warm weather. It’s still weird to think that everything we owned fit in a 16ft moving truck.  We headed out about noon and drove to Roscommon. There we picked up a table and a dresser. Later we arrived in Mt. Pleasant to say goodbye to my sisters at CMU. We had my final La Senorita Mexican goodness and then we headed to Detroit. It was good to see his family before we headed out of state. The next day we were finally out. Headed to Florida!!! I was so impressed with how well Tom drove the truck only hitting 1 curb 😛 We stopped in Tennessee for the night. It was 2 days of long driving but we made it. The most amazing rainbow appeared 5 miles outside of Florida and it was like a welcome home sign that was much appreciated. We arrived late in St. Cloud to my Great-grandparents guesthouse. This would be our “home” for about a month and a half. It was strange because although I hadn’t been in the guesthouse in 10 years everything was exactly as I remembered. A nice bit of nostalgia which I was excited to share with my husband. Searching for a place of our own with limited knowledge of the town proved to be a downfall. However we did end up finding a place the only frustration being we were originally told we could move May 1st but didn’t end up getting in til May 11th. I have been waiting so long to finally get a place of my own so the 11th couldn’t come soon enough. Trying to move in and working till 6pm proved to be stressful. However I am finally able to feel at home in my new home. Never been happier!  The best part about moving? Finally getting to open my wedding presents and put them to use! I must be an amazing mover because with all the glass and fragile stuff I own nothing broke. Considering we moved from Michigan to Florida and then again across town I think that was quite an impressive feat. So nothing broke but I did get my wedding bouquet bleached by the sun 😦 sad face being I put it in the car so it wouldn’t break.

About icoulduseawishrightnow

Started a blog ... didn't do much until I moved from Michigan to Florida. Now it's a great way to keep in touch w/ people back home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving across country; moving on, moving out :)

  1. Jelina Hesselink says:

    I am so glad that things are working out so well for You and Tom 🙂 I can’t wait to see and hear more about your adventures together! I love you both very much and I am happy that you both are enjoying Florida!! LOVE, Jelina

Leave a Reply

